//
you're reading...
Books, Articles, TV and/or Rants

How I Learned to Love British TV

When I first came to this country, I only watched two television programs, both now off the air: One Man and His Dog

Phil Drabble, original presenter of one Man and His Dog (taken from Telegraph obituary http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1558991/Phil-Drabble-of-TVs-One-Man-and-His-Dog-dies.html)

Phil Drabble, original presenter of one Man and His Dog
(taken from Telegraph obituary http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1558991/Phil-Drabble-of-TVs-One-Man-and-His-Dog-dies.html)

I loved the fact that when the guys were interviewed about how their dogs performed in the sheep dog trials, their responses were hardly ever more than one syllable: Yup, Nope, OK. I mean after all, they perform their jobs in virtual silence anyway. Why would they all of a sudden become loquacious when someone stuck a microphone in front of them?

But  my favorite program of the two consisted of two goddesses who defined ‘loquacious’ and then breezed right past it, often on a motorcycle:

 

I have entertained myself with watching clips of the Two Fat Ladies during this past week after learning of the death of Clarissa Dickson Wright (as if I needed an excuse). She was the legal eagle-minded, sensible one of the two, whereas Jennifer was the flamboyant, fingernails and lipstick to match, very Catholic one. They were so outspoken, unshakeable in their love of lard and meat, and very jolly.

And best of all, Clarissa went on to do a One Man and His Dog Christmas Special

Two shows that taught me a lot about Britain, I think (more so than my diet of Masterpiece Theatre and Merchant and Ivory when I was in the States).  We will never see their like.

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “How I Learned to Love British TV

  1. dear departed Clarissa and Jennifer – they were marvellous and so fabulous at putting down any thought of healthy eating – it was more eat what you want, enjoy what you eat but there was also a moderation aspect – funny how some of the medical reports coming out this week actually say this exact thing, but the lovable “Two Fat Ladies” were always lambasted for this…. they join the ranks of Floyd in their demonstration how great food can be, how you can be informing people in a passionate way and educating them at the same time. None of this F* this F* that and constant shouting – you are right, we will never see their like, mostly as tv people can’t see why this would appeal.

    Posted by Jo | March 25, 2014, 2:57 pm

Leave a comment

My Latin Notebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other subscribers