//
you're reading...
Assorted Wildlife

Oh, and the bees showed up…

Yes, I admit that the blog lately, when I have had a moment to write a post or two, has been mostly about our lodger, Cheryl.  You can’t blame us though as she has been our constant companion during these winter months (along with the birds).  And she does have her moments, like this one

I could watch her all day. It really is quite therapeutic, and with our crappy video skills, quite mystifying. She looks as if she is suspended in mid-air, held up by….nothing. I was trying to discern a pattern to the movement of her legs: obviously I think her front left leg provided the main impetus. But is it through this one that the new threads are cast? A mystery.

 

But it’s not all about Cheryl

After last year’s loss of a beehive to starvation, I get a bit jumpy around this time of year, not even taking the bees momentary appearance as any reason for confidence.  It had been preying on my mind since the beginning of February that I had to get more fondant into the hives.  And when recent weeks produced some hard frosts, I started getting into even more of a panic. So, I donned the suit last Saturday, and discovered to my relief two hives in good condition, worrying at some left over fondant. I still loaded them up with more which I am glad of as the weather has gotten much colder around here with more hard frosts.  This even though the older, more established hive has a super that felt like it had rocks in it instead of honey–I am assuming what’s left in the frames is crystallized hence the weight.

Of course, the very next day, I came out to this sight:

 

Anyone care to guess what my worry was at this point? Begins with an ‘s’ and ends with ‘warm’.

You just gotta love’em….

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Oh, and the bees showed up…

  1. Yes, we do love ’em! We’ve begun feeding ours on the warmer days this year, and today I will probably open up the hives and check. Last year we lost all three hives, and can’t figure out why. I’m suspicious of robber bees being the activity we see now, as it was last year, so until I open up and look, I’m uncomfortable. Love nature, and your spider is cool.

    Posted by Kim Kendall | February 28, 2016, 2:59 pm
  2. Know exactly how you feel – we lost two hives at the start of the winter and keep looking to see how the others are doing – we, in France, had had a mild and warm winter which has meant they are flying more, but no real source of food for them. Will get another feed on this week.

    Love your spider – when we lived on the boat we had one that created a beautiful web each morning from the tiller stand to the rail, which we had to destroy if we wanted to move.

    Amazing.
    Susan

    Posted by Susan Dixon | February 28, 2016, 5:17 pm
    • We had a mild winter–in December here in the UK. But it’s had another twist in its tail late Feb and they are prediciting cold through to Easter.

      My friend Jo has a narrow garden bisected by a clothes line. Those devious things would build their webs on either side, making it near impossible to walk the length of the garden….

      Posted by mylatinnotebook | February 28, 2016, 6:47 pm
  3. Those bees, they always keep us guessing! And why the name “Cheryl”? It’s a lovely name, but, I dunno…does she “look” like a Cheryl? Nice to have you back in the blogosphere–I miss your whimsical posts.

    Posted by Tina | February 28, 2016, 5:24 pm
    • I think someone on tv had that name at the time, and as she seemed set to stay and in the bathroom no less, it only seemed appropriate that we are on a first name basis. Not entirely back but things should be freer in April. Hope you are well. I am way jel of your owl…

      Posted by mylatinnotebook | February 28, 2016, 6:43 pm
  4. That is crazy – I didn’t know they could swarm so early. Makes me feel I should go and check on mine again…..

    Posted by bluebunny01 | February 28, 2016, 8:48 pm
  5. Surely not a swarm in February?! Though it has been such a mild winter… could see lots of pollen there so perhaps it was young bees taking orientation flights and foragers excited to gather fresh pollen.

    Posted by Emily Scott | February 28, 2016, 10:06 pm
  6. I know exactly how you feel about the bees in late winter. My anxiety won’t subside until I see some early flowers bloom and the bees come out to forage.

    Posted by P&B | February 29, 2016, 4:11 am
  7. those bees certainly give you cause for consternation!

    Posted by Josephine | February 29, 2016, 11:57 am
  8. I can’t imagine the kind of brain needed to coordinate eight legs doing different things. Yes, spiders are fun to watch, especially if there is glass between the observer and the observed.
    El Niño has impacted our bees big time in our area. Many hives have been lost. I’m down to one now. The green hive placed in the tree almost three years ago, but that might be on it’s way out too, because today I saw some bee poop in the entrance…not a good sign.😦

    Posted by solarbeez | March 1, 2016, 5:23 am
    • So sorry to hear about all your wonderful hives. Sometimes poop is just poop. It usually a sign of something bad if it’s a lot of poop.

      What astonishes me about Cheryl and her kind is: where/when/how does she learn how to weave her web? It’s not like her mother shows her. The same with birds: how do they learn to make nests?

      Posted by mylatinnotebook | March 6, 2016, 12:23 pm
  9. Love Cheryl….!

    Posted by Rambling Woods | March 3, 2016, 1:24 am

Leave a Reply

My Latin Notebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 177 other followers

