//
you're reading...
Beekeeping, Books, Articles, TV and/or Rants, Honey Bees

So That’s Where All the Pollen Has Gone….

Wolfgang Laib, Pollen from Hazelnut, MoMA

Wolfgang Laib, Pollen from Hazelnut, MoMA (Photo credit: gsz)

I think there is a part of Germany whose bees may need some international aid…..

Note the reasons for the artist doing this.  Given the near universal threat to bees, all that comes to mind is a British expression of sorts:  Is he having a laugh?
Don’t Call the Cleaning Crew. That Yellow Spill Is Art:  Wolfgang Laib’s ‘Pollen From Hazelnut,’ at MoMA  by Ken Johnson

Discussion

9 thoughts on “So That’s Where All the Pollen Has Gone….

  1. how it demonstrates harmony I’m not sure, if I were a bee or insect having my food removed I’d be hopping mad and in no way feeling zen-like.

    Posted by Jo | February 6, 2013, 3:04 pm
  2. What the ???? I read the article which says he started using bee pollen in his “art” (sorry, I had to add the quotes) in the 70s. I suppose back then bees were thriving. Now this almost feels like looking at “art” (sorry again) made of elephant tusks. Which is something I suspect only a beekeeper would think – but still, what the ???

    Posted by Laura Rittenhouse | February 6, 2013, 11:01 pm
    • I’m glad you deployed the quotation marks, saved me from doing it……

      Thing is the color is gorgeous, but then that’s what the bees love. Could have just used that color paint, still called it ‘Pollen’ but then bill it as a protest piece over the state of bees. Hey, Laura, we should do that, one in the UK and one in the USA! Think we could make some big bucks….? A scathingly brilliant idea, I think!

      Posted by mylatinnotebook | February 7, 2013, 2:28 pm
      • Great idea except I’m in Australia, not the US. And I’m not sure beekeepers get paid big bucks for anything, not like modern “artists” anyway.🙂

        I doubt we have enough big galleries in Aus to accept such a large piece of “art”. Maybe I can paint a small piece of canvas yellow and hang it on a wall and title it “vanishing pollen” – I wonder if anyone besides us would get it.

        Posted by Laura Rittenhouse | February 7, 2013, 9:24 pm
  3. Incredible! I’d rather that the artist painted bees than use bee pollen for art! As a beekeeper, I have mixed feelings about collecting pollen from the hive (we don’t collect pollen from our bees) as foragers work so hard carrying home these heavy loads only to be ‘mugged’ by pollen collectors at the entrance that sometimes damage the bees. Also, I think pollen is far more beneficial to bees and bee larvae than it is to humans or art…

    Posted by Emma Sarah Tennant | February 11, 2013, 2:41 pm
  4. I would be o.k. with it if he planted the hazelnuts for the purpose of raising a surplus of pollen. Or even if the area had a surplus of pollen and no bees. Of course, my answer would have been to order some bees, not paint a floor. Even if you don’t want to keep bees, you can still order them, set them up and let them do their own thing. Any beekeeper worth their salt can help you establish a feral colony. Feral bees are just as happy as the ones we “keep”. My bees really keep me, busy, happy, healthy. I love to sip coffee while watching the morning busy bees! I learned early on to lower my blood pressure and chill out when handling bees.

    Posted by Tessa Bertoldi | April 12, 2013, 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

My Latin Notebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 177 other followers

